Alexa

Reckless Vehicular Homicide Attorneys

South Carolina Reckless Vehicular Homicide Attorneys

What is Reckless Vehicular Homicide?

According to South Carolina law Section 56-5-2910, when a person driving a vehicle in a manner that is reckless and a complete disregard for the safety of others, and that driving is a proximate result of a person’s death within three years from related injuries. The driver is guilty of reckless vehicular homicide.

Penalties for Reckless Vehicular Homicide

A person who is convicted of reckless vehicular homicide is guilty of a felony, fined a minimum of $1,000 and maximum $5,000, faces a maximum 10 year jail sentence, or both. Additionally the convicted person’s driver’s license will be revoked for 5 years by the SCDMV.

After 1 year from the date of revocation of their driver’s license the person may petition in his or her county for reinstatement of their driver’s license.

Consideration for reinstatement of drivers license by the court includes:

  • whether alcohol, beer, wine, or narcotics were involved in the accident.
  • whether the person has served their jail time, paid their fine in full, or both.
  • whether the person’s character, driving record, habits, attitude or otherwise deem this person to not be a danger to society while operating a motor vehicle.

With the discretion of the court, you may be eligible for reinstatement of your drivers license before the 5 year revocation period ends, or granted a restricted license.

Charged with Reckless Vehicular Homicide in South Carolina?

If you have been charged with reckless vehicular homicide please contact the Strom Law Firm, LLC for a free consultation with one of our experienced criminal defense attorneys. Being convicted of reckless homicide may leave you feeling overwhelmed and anxious, so call us today. Our criminal defense attorneys will fight hard to achieve the best possible outcome for your case.

Trackbacks

  1. […] However, Jenner will only face misdemeanor manslaughter charges for her role in the accident, and not gross negligence or more serious manslaughter charges. Misdemeanor manslaughter charges in California could put Jenner in jail for up to a year, but no more, and it is unlikely that Jenner will actually go to jail at all. In South Carolina, joint speeding violations such as a drunk driving incident that resulted in vehicular manslaughter could end up as a felony crime. […]

BestLawyers.comAVBetter Business Bureau