Boaters Can Be Arrested for Boating Under the Influence
South Carolina is known for miles and miles of beautiful lakes and coastlines. However, according to state law, it is unlawful for a person to operate a motorized boat or sailboat upon the beautiful waters of SC if you are under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs to the extent that you become materially and appreciably impaired.
Penalties for Boating Under the Influence in South Carolina:
Similar to the penalties for driving under the influence in our state, BUI penalties can be severe:
- First Offense: $200 fine, plus court costs, or 48 hours to 30 days in jail
- Second Offense: $2,000 to $5,000 fine, plus court costs and 48 hours to 1 year in jail
- Third Offense: $3,500 to $6,000 fine, plus court costs and 60 days to 3 years in jail
Contact a South Carolina Boating Under the Influence Attorney
Criminal defense lawyers at the Strom Law Firm, LLC provide free consultations to discuss the facts of your boating under the influence case. Let us fight your BUI charge and help you protect your professional and financial future. Call our team of criminal defense attorneys at the Strom Law Firm, LLC today.