Alexa

Fighting Arson Charges

South Carolina Defense Attorneys for Arson Charges

When law enforcement concludes that a fire was intentionally set you can be charged with arson pursuant to S.C. Code Ann. 16-11-110 et seq.

The determination of whether a fire was accidental or intentional is often based upon circumstantial evidence.

If you are charged with arson in South Carolina, you need an attorney who has the resources to verify that the investigation conducted and the collection of evidence obtained were gathered in accordance with proper procedure.

If you have been charged with arson or intentionally setting a fire to destroy evidence related to another crime such as insurance fraud, murder, or burglary, contact the criminal defense attorneys at the Strom Law Firm today for a free consultation to discuss how we can help you protect your legal rights as well as your future.

Arson Classifications

  • A first degree arson charge in South Carolina is defined as someone who purposely and with ill-intent allows, causes or assists in causing a fire to be set, which causes damage to any form of structure regardless of who it belongs to, and which either directly or indirectly results in a death or serious bodily injury.
  • A second degree arson charge in South Carolina is defined as someone who purposely and with ill-intent allows, causes or assists in causing a fire to be set, which causes damage to any structure designed for human occupancy (ie. church, house, school, etc.), regardless of who it belongs to.
  • A third degree arson charge in South Carolina is defined as someone who purposely and with ill-intent allows, causes or assists in causing a fire to be set, which causes damage to a building or structure other than those defined in second degree arson charges (ie. watercraft, motor vehicle or personal property) with the intention of damaging or destroying regardless of who it belongs to.

Penalties for arson

  • First Degree: A person convicted of arson in the first degree  is guilty of a felony and faces a minimum of 30 years in jail.
  • Second Degree: A person convicted of arson in the second degree is guilty of a felony and faces a minimum 3 years and maximum of 25 years in jail.
  • Third Degree: A person convicted of arson in the third degree is guilty of a felony and faces a maximum of 15 years in jail.

Arson Charges in South Carolina

Charged with arson?  Contact the criminal defense attorneys at the Strom Law Firm, LLC today for a free consultation to discuss the facts of your case.  We offer flexible payment options and accept Visa and Mastercard.

BestLawyers.comAVBetter Business Bureau