Disney Channel Star Arrested for Underage DUI in Malibu
An 18-year-old Disney television star has been arrested for underage DUI charges after being pulled over for speeding near Los Angeles.
Billy Unger, star of the Disney XD series “Lab Rats,” was driving along the Pacific Coast Highway around midnight on Saturday morning, when he was pulled over for speeding. Police suspected Unger was drunk when they pulled him over, so they had him blow into a Breathalyzer.
Although Unger blew a 0.08 – the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) in most of the United States – Unger is only 18 years old, and California has a zero tolerance policy toward underage drinking. Unger was arrested for underage DUI and taken to jail.
He was released from jail a short time later. There has been no word so far when Unger will go to court for the underage DUI charge.
Consequences of Underage DUI in South Carolina
South Carolina’s strict zero tolerance policy and the future implications of an underage drinking conviction make it critical that you contact a South Carolina underage drinking lawyer to protect your rights.
“Zero tolerance” means that anyone in South Carolina who is under 21 years old and has a blood alcohol content (BAC) of higher than 0.02 while driving can be arrested and charged for an underage DUI. For anyone over 21 years old, the BAC limit is 0.08.
Consequences of Underage DUI charges include:
- License (or permit) suspended or withheld for three months for a first offense; six months for a second offense within five years.
- License suspended for six months if chemical test is refused during a first offense; a one-year suspension if it’s the second offense within five years.
- Imprisonment for 2 to 3 days in the case of the first underage DUI charge; if this is the second underage DUI charge, imprisonment can last from 5 days to 1 year.
- First offense fines up to $400; subsequent underage DUI charges can rack up fines of $2,100 or more.
However, it is important for you to know that you are entitled to an Administrative Hearing to seek reinstatement of your driving privileges while your case is pending.
A driver who is over the age of 18 but under 21 charged with DUI may additionally be charged with child endangerment and subject to additional criminal penalties if they are carrying a passenger younger than 16. The underage DUI suspect could also face reckless endangerment charges, charges for being a minor in possession of drugs or alcohol, or vehicle violations. If you are over 21 years old and you distributed alcohol to a minor which led to an underage DUI charge or accident, you could face serious charges of child endangerment and distributing alcohol to minors, which can lead to a revoked driver’s license or business license.
The Strom Law Firm Can Help with Underage DUI Charges
The DUI defense attorneys at the Strom Law Firm are based in Columbia, SC and collectively have more than 50 years of complex litigation experience. If you or a loved one are under age and have been charged with a DUI, you will need help defending your rights. Contact the Strom Law Firm today for a free, confidential consultation to discuss the facts of your case. 803.252.4800