Justin Bieber Goes to Trial for Florida DUI in May
On Tuesday, March 11th, a trial date for Justin Bieber’s Florida DUI charge was set for May 5th.
Bieber was formally charged with driving under the influence of drugs, resisting arrest, and possessing an invalid driver’s license.
No plea deal has been offered to the young Canadian pop star, who has officially pleaded not guilty to the DUI charges. Often, first offenders receive a plea deal to avoid potential jail time.
“All we’re going to say is, we’re going to prepare for a trial and that Mr. Bieber has pleaded not guilty,” Bieber’s attorney told reporters.
The DUI trial had initially been scheduled for March, but Bieber and his attorneys had to focus on the public release of some of the police videos of the singer’s DUI arrest.
Reportedly, Bieber confessed to police that he was driving under the influence of alcohol, marijuana, and prescription medications.
“Yeah, we were smoking all night at the studio,” he allegedly confessed, according to the DUI Test Report obtained by The News.
Police reports also state that the pop singer had trouble with the Breathalyzer test at the police station. He “continuously attempted to grab” the Breathalyzer hose despite being told not to, and “became agitated” when asked to take the test correctly.
However, his blood alcohol readings as registered by the Breathalyzer were 0.014 and 0.011, taken three minutes apart, which is under the legal limit for underage drivers.
Bieber was released after a judge set his bail for $2,500. If convicted on the DUI charges, Bieber faces up to 6 months in prison, but will likely receive a shorter sentence because it is his first offense.
While waiting for his Florida DUI trial, Bieber also faces other criminal charges. He was charged in Toronto for assault on a limo driver after a hockey game on December 30th. His house in California was also raided as part of an investigation into a neighbor’s complaints about a January 9th “egging incident,” in which Bieber reportedly threw several eggs at a neighbor’s home, causing $20,000 in damages. Police reportedly found more drugs in Bieber’s home, which police initially reported to be cocaine but now investigators believe to be MDMA, aka Molly or ecstasy.
Consequences of Underage DUI
South Carolina’s strict zero tolerance policy and the future implications of an underage drinking conviction make it critical that you contact a South Carolina underage drinking lawyer to protect your rights.
If you are under 21 and and your blood alcohol (BAC) is at least .02 and less than .08:
- License (or permit) suspended or withheld for three months for a first offense; six months for a second offense within five years.
- License suspended for six months if chemical test is refused during a first offense; a one-year suspension if it’s the second offense within five years.
However, it is important for you to know that you are entitled to an Administrative Hearing to seek reinstatement of your driving privileges while your case is pending.
A driver who is over the age of 18 but under 21 charged with DUI may additionally be charged with child endangerment and subject to additional criminal penalties if they are carrying a passenger younger than 16.
The Strom Law Firm Can Help with Underage DUI Charges
The DUI defense attorneys at the Strom Law Firm are based in Columbia, SC and collectively have more than 50 years of complex litigation experience. If you or a loved one are under age and have been charged with a DUI, you will need help defending your rights. Contact the Strom Law Firm today for a free, confidential consultation to discuss the facts of your case. 803.252.4800