Alexa

“Myrtle Manor” Reality TV Star Arrested for DUI

Star of New Series “Myrtle Manor” Arrested for First DUI Offense

myrtle manorThe star of “Myrtle Manor,” a new hit reality TV show on TLC which is filmed in Myrtle Beach, SC, has been arrested and charged with her first DUI offense.

The television show is a “docu-drama” filmed last summer in Patrick’s Mobile Home Park off Highway 15 in Myrtle Beach. It started on March 3rd.

Amanda Lee Adams, 26, was charged with first-offense DUI after officers pulled her over just after 4:30 AM on Friday, April 26th. According to police reports, Adams had crashed her black Jeep Wrangler into an electric pole, knocking the pole over and causing front-end damage to her vehicle. She was the only occupant of the car at the time.

Adams describes herself on her Facebook and Twitter pages as “I am the ‘bless your heart’ trucker hat wearing, turtle hunting, four wheel driving, redneck of the Darlin Dogs Empire.”

The arresting officer said he smelled alcohol on Adams, and asked her how much she’d had to drink. She reportedly responded with, “Three beers and one shot.” She failed several field sobriety tests, and was unable to follow the sobriety test directions and did not complete the tests. The officer transported her to Myrtle Beach Jail, where she said she’d had “three beers and four shots.” A breathalyzer returns a blood alcohol content of .20, nearly three times the legal limit of .08.

Adams has been charged with DUI, first offense.

First Offense DUI in South Carolina

If you are over 21 and you are convicted of DUI, your blood alcohol level (BAC) will be used to dictate the severity of your sentence for each type of offense (first DUI offense, second DUI offense, etc.).  Keep in mind that the fines set forth below will more than double when you add in court costs and fees.

If your BAC is between .08% and .09%:

  • Jail sentences for a first DUI can range from 48 hours to a maximum 30 days, although community service can be given in lieu of jail time.
  • Fines can range up to $400, plus court costs and fees.
  • You will additionally lose your driver’s license for six months.

If your BAC is between .10% and .15%:

  • Jail sentences for first DUI charges can range from 72 hours to a maximum 30 days, although community service can be given in lieu of jail time.
  • Fines can range up to $500, plus court costs and fees.
  • You will additionally lose your driver’s license for six months.

If your BAC is .16 or higher:

  • Jail sentences for first DUI charges can range from 30 days to a maximum 90 days, although community service can be given in lieu of jail time.
  • Fines can range up to $1,000, and you are required to enroll and successfully complete an Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program(ADSAP).

South Carolina DUI Lawyer

If you or a loved one has been charged with DUI, whether first offense or felony DUI, contact a South Carolina DUI Lawyer at the Strom Law Firm, LLC today. We offer free, confidential consultations to discuss the facts of your case. Contact us for help. 803.252.4800.

About Pete Strom

Defending criminal charges including drug crimes, DUI, CDV, mail fraud, wire fraud, bank fraud, computer crimes, money laundering, and juvenile crimes, Pete also handles Federal and State investigations. Representing individuals in Civil Matters including Class Actions, Personal Injury, Qui Tam Actions, Defective Products, Nursing Home Neglect, and Professional Licensing Defense cases. Joseph Preston “Pete” Strom, Jr., the managing partner at Strom Law Firm, L.L.C., has been fighting for justice since 1984.

BestLawyers.comAVBetter Business Bureau