Alexa

Rapper DMX Arrested for DUI – A New Charge for Him

DMX Arrested in SC Again, But This Time the Arrest was for DUI

DUI chargesRapper DMX has had yet another run-in with South Carolina law enforcement – this time, however, he was pulled over for DUI, which is a new twist on his story.

In February, the 42-year-old rap artist, whose real name is Earl Simmons, was pulled over because he was driving without a license, and local police knew he had a history of that problem. He was arrested in 2011 in a suburb in Phoenix, AZ for driving 102 mph, and he recently finished a stint in prison on probation for failing to submit to drug testing, as well as driving without a license.

This time, however, Simmons was discovered to be driving under the influence, or committing DUI. He was also driving without a license, so he was arrested for both charges.

Officials did note that the rapper’s blood alcohol level was less than .10 percent. The legal level in South Carolina, and most of the country, is 0.08 percent. At or above that, and police can arrest you on DUI charges.

Simmons lives off and on in Upstate South Carolina.

Penalties for First DUI Offense:

If you are over 21 and you are convicted of DUI, your blood alcohol level (BAC) will be used to dictate the severity of your sentence for each type of offense (first DUI offense, second DUI offense, etc.).  Keep in mind that the fines set forth below will more than double when you add in court costs and fees.

If your BAC is between .08% and .09%:

  • Jail sentences for a first DUI can range from 48 hours to a maximum 30 days, although community service can be given in lieu of jail time.
  • Fines can range up to $400, plus court costs and fees.
  • You will additionally lose your driver’s license for six months.

If your BAC is between .10% and .15%:

  • Jail sentences for first DUI charges can range from 72 hours to a maximum 30 days, although community service can be given in lieu of jail time.
  • Fines can range up to $500, plus court costs and fees.
  • You will additionally lose your driver’s license for six months.

If your BAC is .16 or higher:

  • Jail sentences for first DUI charges can range from 30 days to a maximum 90 days, although community service can be given in lieu of jail time.
  • Fines can range up to $1,000, and you are required to enroll and successfully complete an Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program (ADSAP).

In addition to the above DUI penalties, the court may order ignition interlock devices placed on vehicles driven by the convicted driver for a specified period of time. The ignition interlock device measures BAC and prevents the car from starting if the driver tests positive for BAC. Generally, however, only repeat offenders or felony DUI offenders receive ignition interlock devices.

The Strom Law Firm Can Help with DUI Charges

If you face DUI charges, whether it is your first charge, or felony DUI, you could feel alone and afraid. Just because you have received DUI charges does not automatically mean that you are guilty. The attorneys at the Strom Law Firm have helped people who face DUI charges since 1996. We offer free, confidential consultations so you can discuss the facts of your case with impunity. Contact us for help today. 803.252.4800

About Pete Strom

Defending criminal charges including drug crimes, DUI, CDV, mail fraud, wire fraud, bank fraud, computer crimes, money laundering, and juvenile crimes, Pete also handles Federal and State investigations. Representing individuals in Civil Matters including Class Actions, Personal Injury, Qui Tam Actions, Defective Products, Nursing Home Neglect, and Professional Licensing Defense cases. Joseph Preston “Pete” Strom, Jr., the managing partner at Strom Law Firm, L.L.C., has been fighting for justice since 1984.

BestLawyers.comAVBetter Business Bureau