DUI and Boating Under the Influence Tips for Memorial Day Weekend in South Carolina
For most South Carolinians, this holiday weekend will be filled with parties, cookouts, and other celebrations with friends and family. However, it may likely be a weekend filled with DUI checkpoints and DNR activity which may result in DUI or Boating Under the Influence charges. South Carolina has consistently ranked high on the list of states with the most DUI related deaths. In 2013, 44 percent of the traffic deaths in South Carolina were the result of drunk driving. According to the South Carolina Department of Public Safety, nearly 27,000 DUI arrests were made in our state last year. So, while we hope you all have a wonderful, fun weekend, we would like to provide some fun-time tips to help you stay safe as well as avoid being arrested for driving or boating under the influence:
Tips to Avoid a DUI
- Have a designated driver, whether you’re in a car or boat
- Take a cab, Uber, or public transportation
- Be the host of your own party
- Don’t text while driving/boating, especially if you’ve consumed alcohol
Following these simple guidelines can keep you from incurring the heavy costs of being arrested for driving or boating under the influence. However, if you are stopped by a police officer or approached by DNR, here are some important things to know:
- You DO NOT have to answer any questions that the officer asks. We recommend that you simply and politely refuse to answer any questions.
- You do not have to take part in any Field Sobriety Test (FST). A FST is one of the best pieces of evidence that Troopers and other law enforcement officers have of impairment, and you should always refuse the FSTs.
- You will most likely be on video beginning the moment you are pulled over if you are pulled over on suspicion of DUI. It is essential you are on your best behavior and that you are polite and respectful to the officer. If you are placed in an officer’s car, you will most likely be on video there as well.
- If you are taken to jail you will be offered a breath test for alcohol concentration. Although you will lose your license from 6 months to 15 months depending upon your prior record if you refuse the breath test, you do not have to take the breath test. Refusing the breath test is likely the best decision.
- DUIs and/or boating under the influence have long-lasting consequences, and you should always contact a criminal defense lawyer before proceeding in your case. If you are arrested, you have the right to an attorney.
At the Strom Law Firm, our attorneys have years of experience in defending clients on DUI and boating under the influence charges. If you find yourself in this unfortunate situation, give us a call at (803) 252-4800 for a free consultation. You can find more helpful information on our DUI Defense Attorneys and Boating Under the Influence pages, and we now offer useful tools through our app on both Android and iPhone, including: a tip checklist, criminal defense form, and a blood alcohol content calculator.
We wish everyone a happy and safe Memorial Day, especially all of our men and women in uniform. Thank you for your service!