Alexa

Lindsay Lohan’s Mother Pleads Not Guilty to DUI

Facing DUI Charges, Dina Lohan Pleads Not Guilty

DIna LohanDina Lohan, mother of notorious party girl and troubled actress Lindsay Lohan, is facing her own notoriety, for a DUI in New Jersey.

The 50-year-old appeared in a New Jersey court on Tuesday, September 24th, to plead not guilty to DUI charges she received after a September 12th arrest.

Judge Joy Watson granted Dina Lohan release on supervised probation, without bail, and suspended Lohan’s driver’s license, citing the severity of the DUI charge. The mother of the star then climbed back into a chauffeured silver Rolls-Royce.

Almost two weeks prior, Dina Lohan was pulled over after police caught her speeding down the Northern State Parkway on Long Island. Reportedly, Lohan was driving 77 mph in a 55 zone. She was arrested on suspicion of driving while intoxicated, and a sobriety test revealed her blood alcohol content was 0.20, which is over twice the legal limit of 0.08%.

Reportedly, the DUI arrest came just as the Hollywood mom is about to finish her memoir. A spokesperson for Dina Lohan’s publisher, Birdstreet Books Inc, said Dina is eager to “address the rumors, misinformation and unsubstantiated stories often generated about her and her family by the tabloid press. Dina feels the public has often misunderstood her life and she has worked diligently over the past year to write this book, proving her dedication to truthfully and fairly represent herself and her children.”

“Dina Lohan is painfully mindful of the gravity of her arrest for driving while intoxicated,” defense attorney Mark Heller said. “I am confident that the district attorney’s office and the judicial system will temper justice with mercy.” Heller added that Dina is has no other criminal record and is a lifelong Long Island resident.

Lohan’s DUI charges come mere months after her daughter Lindsay’s sixth trip to rehab for drug and alcohol abuse.

Penalties for First DUI Offense in South Carolina

If your BAC is between .08% and .09%:

  • Jail sentences for a first DUI can range from 48 hours to a maximum 30 days, although community service can be given in lieu of jail time.
  • Fines can range up to $400, plus court costs and fees.
  • You will additionally lose your driver’s license for six months.

If your BAC is between .10% and .15%:

  • Jail sentences for first DUI charges can range from 72 hours to a maximum 30 days, although community service can be given in lieu of jail time.
  • Fines can range up to $500, plus court costs and fees.
  • You will additionally lose your driver’s license for six months.

If your BAC is .16 or higher:

  • Jail sentences for first DUI charges can range from 30 days to a maximum 90 days, although community service can be given in lieu of jail time.

The Strom Law Firm Can Help with DUI Charges

If you face DUI charges, whether it is your first charge or felony DUI, you could feel alone and afraid. Just because you have received DUI charges does not automatically mean that you are guilty. The attorneys at the Strom Law Firm have helped people who face DUI charges since 1996. We offer free, confidential consultations so you can discuss the facts of your case with impunity. Contact us for help today. 803.252.4800

About Pete Strom

Defending criminal charges including drug crimes, DUI, CDV, mail fraud, wire fraud, bank fraud, computer crimes, money laundering, and juvenile crimes, Pete also handles Federal and State investigations. Representing individuals in Civil Matters including Class Actions, Personal Injury, Qui Tam Actions, Defective Products, Nursing Home Neglect, and Professional Licensing Defense cases. Joseph Preston “Pete” Strom, Jr., the managing partner at Strom Law Firm, L.L.C., has been fighting for justice since 1984.

BestLawyers.comAVBetter Business Bureau