Perjury Charges in South Carolina
Under South Carolina law Section 16-9-10, perjury is willfully giving false, misleading, or incomplete testimony under oath in any court, or on any document or form that’s legally binding in South Carolina.
Defendants in criminal cases are not the only ones subject to a perjury accusation. Witnesses, police officers, experts, and anyone else who gives testimony in a case may be subject to a perjury charge if prosecutors find their statements to be dishonest or misleading.
Perjury is taken very seriously and the consequences can be harsh. However, this crime takes more forms than just lying on the witness stand. Perjury includes making false statements on legal documents or in court proceedings:
- Signed Affidavits
- Grand Jury Testimony
- Pre Trial Hearings
Perjury can also occur in any situation in which a person is told to tell the truth under the penalty of perjury. Filling out college applications and tax forms are two situations that usually carry the penalty of perjury and, therefore, would carry a perjury charge should the person filling them out intentionally make false statements on them.
Penalties for Perjury
Someone convicted with perjury for lying under oath is guilty of a felony, and sentenced a maximum of 5 years, fined in the discretion of the court, or both.
Someone convicted with perjury for giving false information in a document required by the laws of South Carolina is guilty of a misdemeanor, and sentenced a maximum of 6 months, fined a minimum of $100, or both.
Penalties can be severe if charged with perjury. If you or a loved one has been charged with perjury, contact our experienced criminal defense team today at Strom Law Firm, LLC for a free consultation.