Defending Against Your Prostitution and Solicitation Charges in South Carolina
Prostitution and solicitation charges in South Carolina can be complicated and involve an array of legal issues. Whether you are the person offering a sexual service, or the person accepting sexual service, you can be charged with prostitution and/or solicitation. In order to be charged with this crime, a completed sexual service is not required, and an agreement or offer is enough to support this charge.
Prostitution and Solicitation Under South Carolina Law
Under South Carolina law, it is unlawful to:
- Engage in prostitution;
- Aid or abet prostitution knowingly;
- Procure or solicit for the purpose of prostitution;
- Expose indecently the private person for the purpose of prostitution or other indecency;
- Reside in, enter or remain in any place, structure, building, vehicle, trailer or conveyance for the purpose of lewdness, assignation or prostitution;
- Keep or set up a house of ill fame, brothel or bawdyhouse;
- Receive any person for purposes of lewdness, assignation or prostitution into any vehicle, conveyance, trailer, place, structure or building;
- Permit any person to remain for the purpose of lewdness, assignation or prostitution in any vehicle, conveyance, trailer, place, structure or building;
- Direct, take or transport, offer or agree to take or transport or aid or assist in transporting any person to any vehicle, conveyance, trailer, place, structure or building or to any other person with knowledge or having reasonable cause to believe that the purpose of such directing, taking or transporting is prostitution, lewdness or assignation;
- Lease or rent or contract to lease or rent any vehicle, conveyance, trailer, place, structure or building or part thereof believing or having reasonable cause to believe that it is intended to be used for any of the purposes herein prohibited; or
- Aid, abet, or participate knowingly in the doing of any of the acts herein prohibited.
Prostitution and Solicitation Penalties
- First Offense: Max $200 fine, or 30 days in jail.
- Second Offense: Max $1,000 fine or max 6 months in jail, or both.
- Third Offense, or subsequent: Max $3,000 fine, minimum 1 year in jail, or both.
The Strom Law Firm Can Help with Prostitution and Solicitation Charges
If you have been charged with solicitation, prostitution, or solicitation of a minor, contact the criminal defense attorneys at the Strom Law Firm, LLC today for a free consultation to discuss the facts of your case. Based in Columbia, SC, our law firm has practiced throughout South Carolina for 16 years, and our criminal defense attorneys have a strong understanding of the complexities of federal sex crimes legislation. Contact us today for help. 803.252.4800.