Man Tries to Pick up His Child from School Drunk, Gets DUI After Child Refuses Ride
A Murfreesboro, Tennessee resident has been arrested on DUI charges after he attempted to pick his child up from school, but the child refused to go with him because the man was drunk.
Brandon S. Patrick, 48, was arrested on DUI charges on Tuesday, May 13th. Reportedly, officers were called to his house after school officials notified them that he had driven drunk to pick up his child from school.
“The minor child refused because he was intoxicated,” Officer Michael Payne reported.
The school called local police to go check on Patrick at his house, but Payne reported that he was not there. Instead, Payne spotted Patrick on the highway and pulled him over for driving with expired tags.
Officer Payne noted that Patrick smelled like alcohol, and appeared drunk. “He stated he had several vodka tonics and wouldn’t do any test …,” Payne reported. “I asked Mr. Patrick if he would do a field sobriety test and he stated he wouldn’t and just take him to jail for DUI.”
Patrick was charged with DUI, as well as violation of the implied consent law. He is scheduled to appear in court for the DUI charges on July 23rd.
DUI Charges In South Carolina
A felony driving under the influence charge, as related to the serious harm or death of another is the most devastating consequence of a drunk driving accident, and can cause lasting damage for all parties and families involved.
A felony DUI conviction for causing great bodily injury includes a mandatory minimum of 30 days to a maximum of 15 years imprisonment, plus a mandatory fine of at least $5,000, not to exceed $10,100. Also, the DMV must suspend the convicted person’s driver’s license for the term of imprisonment plus three years.
A DUI conviction that includes a felony conviction for causing the death of another includes a mandatory minimum sentence of at least 1 year in prison with a maximum 25 years imprisonment, and a minimum mandatory fine of not less than $10,100 nor more than $25,100.
Additionally, the convicted person’s driver’s license is suspensed for the term of imprisonment plus five years.
In South Carolina, you can be charged with driving under the influence ofprescribed or over-the counter drugs or medication in addition to driving while under the influence of illicit drugs. States are under pressure to tighten laws for convicting DUIDs and set clear legal definitions. For now, DUID lawyers may have more opportunities for reducing and expunging driving under the influence of drug charges. Note: A DUID that involved illicit drugs may have other criminal drug charges attached.
The Strom Law Firm Can Help with Felony DUI Charges in South Carolina
The attorneys at the Strom Law Firm can help with any of the following traffic charges:
following too closely,
driving with a suspended license, DUS
driving without insurance,
careless driving, and
If you face DUI charges, whether it is your first charge, or felony DUI, you could feel alone and afraid. Just because you drink and drive, especially if you are not the designated driver, does not automatically mean that you are guilty. The attorneys at the Strom Law Firm have helped people who face DUI charges since 1996. We offer free, confidential consultations so you can discuss the facts of your case with impunity. Contact us for help today. 803.252.4800