South Carolina Weapons Possession Criminal Defense Attorneys
Unlawful possession of a deadly weapon, such as a knife, gun, etc., is a crime that usually occurs in conjunction with other crimes.
Consequences of an Unlawful Possession Charge
Unlawful possession charges will vary depending on a number of factors, but can result in:
- Prison sentence
- Loss of right to bear arms
- Heavy fines
In order to carry a concealed weapon, the state of South Carolina requires a concealed weapons permit. A permit holder must have his permit identification card in his possession whenever he carries a concealable weapon.
If you are found carrying your concealed weapon without a permit in South Carolina, you could receive a fine of up to $500 or up to 90 days in jail.
Individuals who choose to carry a gun or firearm concealed should be cautious, even with a permit. Violating the terms of the permit or taking a weapon into a state without a reciprocity agreement can result in serious consequences.
Some states’ laws require that the state issue a permit if the applicant meets all the legal requirements. Other states’ laws give local law enforcement discretion over whether to issue the permit, even if the applicant meets requirements under state law.
The requirements to obtain a permit to carry a concealed weapon will vary by state.
Furthermore, if you are convicted of a felony, the rights to carry a concealable weapon are revoked under federal law. Under state law your rights to carry a concealable weapon are revoked only for certain enumerated offenses.
At Strom Law Firm, we are dedicated to protecting your rights and giving your case the attention it deserves. If you or a loved one is facing a weapons charge, contact the criminal defense attorneys at the Strom Law Firm, LLC today for a free consultation to discuss the best defense for your case.